Recipe: Kohlrabi and Carrot Salad

kohlrabi salad

I served a lunchtime salad today with a new vegetable for the kids: kohlrabi, or chou-pomme (cabbage-apple) in French. It’s apparently one of the first spring vegetables in Switzerland. We see it all over our farmers’ market this time of year, but I didn’t feel compelled to buy any until I saw a recipe calling for kohlrabi and carrots.

kohlrabi

Instead of cooking the vegetables for the salad, as the recipe called for, I peeled and grated the raw kohlrabi and left them that way. Also, I cheated and bought two bags of pre-grated carrots from Coop, so it all came together rather quickly.

It seems like I’m throwing almonds in everything I make these days, following my son’s successful food challenge. Keeping with this trend, I sprinkled some toasted almonds on top, which I thought were a nice addition.

While the boys were hesitant to try a kohlrabi salad, the carrots certainly helped make it more appealing. I could definitely see us bringing it on a picnic or two this summer. Like my celery root salad, it reminds me of an American-style cole slaw—minus the mayonnaise and other dairy-based ingredients.


Kohlrabi and Carrot Salad

Recipe adapted from Migroscuisine de saison.
Serves 4-6

(dairy/egg-free)

Salad:
6 cups raw carrots, grated
6 cups raw kohlrabi, grated
1 bunch of fresh mint, roughly chopped

Dressing:
4 tablespoons canola oil
2 tablespoons cider vinegar
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1/4 cup apple juice

salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
Optional: toasted almonds

1. Whisk together all the dressing ingredients in a small bowl.

2. In a large bowl, combine the salad ingredients. Add the dressing to the salad, combining until well incorporated. Add salt and pepper, to taste.

3. In a small frying pan, toast some thinly sliced almonds over high heat, tossing them frequently, until they become fragrant and very lightly browned. Sprinkle on top of the salad.

kohlrabi salad with carrots
How do you prepare kohlrabi? What are your favorite kohlrabi recipes? Please leave a comment below or send me an email with the details. Bon week-end, all.

 

6 Comments on “Recipe: Kohlrabi and Carrot Salad”

  1. Stephanie says:

    I had never heard it called chou-pomme before, but Wikipedia says it is a name used in Romandie! Here in our region it is called colrave. Apparently the ‘official’ term is chou-rave (cabbage turnip). I’ll have to ask around and see if the name changes between cantons.

    We usually just cut it up in sticks like carrots. It’s nice and refreshing, and an easy addition to our hiking picnics or cookouts!

    • H. Elise says:

      Hi Stephanie! I was wondering about this too… I also saw “colrave” when I was searching for info, but we never see that term at the market or in our grocery stores. Sounds like it’s used elsewhere in Switzerland though. Will have to ask around as well. Thanks for bringing this up! Have a great weekend. -Heddi

  2. Sophie33 says:

    A great tasty raw kohlrabi recipe! I eat kohlrabis peeled & cut up into bite-sized chunks. Put them in vinegar water to prevent discolouring. I make a bechamel sauce & add the cooked chunks. I serve it with organic spiced pork sausages & boiled potatoes. My hubby & I love it in Wintertime & sometimes in Fall too!

  3. Sophie33 says:

    Sorry, I add freshly ground black pepper, some Maldon sea salt & freshly grated nutmeg to my bechamel sauce!

    • H. Elise says:

      Sounds lovely. I’ve never tried making a dairy-free bechamel sauce though. We could certainly serve it with sausage and potatoes. Will pick some up again tomorrow. Thinking about trying them in soup next… Thanks again for visiting my blog. Very much appreciated. -Heddi


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers