Peanuts & Tree Nuts: Translated for Switzerland

A family traveling to Switzerland this summer wrote me and asked for some help identifying peanut and tree nut ingredients. In response to their request, I’ve put together a list of common nuts translated into three of the four official languages in Switzerland: French, German and Italian.

Nuts 2974x2236

As for my methodology, I started with Google Translate. Then, after I finished my first draft of the table below, I shared it with native speakers for each of the three languages. Finally, I made changes based on their feedback. For example, I added a couple of Swiss German terms that were completely new to me.

When you review my list, if there are any terms I should add or change—such as Swiss-French terms from Suisse romande that may differ from French terms in France—please tell me! You can leave a comment below or send me an email. Also, while I hope this can be a quick reference for people living and traveling with nut allergies in Switzerland, please always use caution when reading ingredient lists or talking with restaurant staff—always ask questions if you have any doubts.

Nut

French

German

Italian

almond

amande

mandel

mandorla

Brazil nut

noix du Brésil

paranuss

noce del Brasile

cashew

noix de cajou

cashewnuss, caschunuss, cashewkerne

anacardo

chestnut

châtaigne, marron (roasted chestnut)

kastanie, maroni (Swiss German)

castagna

hazelnut

noisette

haselnuss

nocciola

macadamia

noix de macadamia

macadamia, macadamianuss

macadamia

nuts

noix, fruits à coque

nüsse, schalenfrüchte

noci

pecan

noix de pécan

pekanuss

pecan

peanut

arachide, cacahuète, cacahouète

erdnuss

arachide

pine nut

pignon de pin

pinienkerne

pinoli

pistachio

pistache

pistazie

pistacchio

walnut

noix

walnuss, baumnuss (Swiss German)

noce

While we no longer have to avoid peanuts and tree nuts for my son, I know what’s it’s like to do so. Hopefully your child (or children) will also outgrow their food allergies, or for everyone living with food allergies, I hope there will someday be a cure. In the meantime, I’ll keep sharing what we’ve learned via this blog, in case it’s helpful to others.

Once again, if you have any suggested edits for the table above, please send them my way. Thanks so much for your help. And, Happy Birthday to my mother-in-law!

Updated: June 30, 2014

2 Comments on “Peanuts & Tree Nuts: Translated for Switzerland”

  1. Amantha says:

    Thanks for the happy birthday wish!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers