Recipe: Lemon “Ricotta” Pancakes

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes 2713x2971

My oldest son—who doesn’t have food allergies, had previously stopped eating the vegan pancakes I made for his brother. He claimed to no longer like ANY pancakes. Thankfully, he’s changed his mind in the last few weeks. With a new ingredient, I’ve developed a recipe that both my sons really like: Lemon “Ricotta” Pancakes sans dairy, eggs and nuts.


MozzaRisella Vegan Cheese

While I don’t usually share recipes that call for specific brands of food products, I make an exception when I find something really great, especially if it could be helpful to others living with food allergies. My latest discovery here in Switzerland is MozzaRisella—a vegan cheese made from germinated brown rice. I’ve seen it in our small Swiss city at several bio (organic) shops, and I know you can also find it in the UK.

MozzaRisella1 3098x2370

We started buying MozzaRisella to make dairy-free pizza for our son. Compared to the frozen pizza with fake cheese we tried last summer in the US, the homemade pizza with MozzaRisella is so much better. This product even tastes good uncooked and straight from the package. My boys and I were sampling pieces last night when I was making pizza again, and my 3-year old with food allergies kept asking for more.

In addition to pizza, we also tried using MozzaRisella for nachos. I would have never considered this before, but we recently had nachos with mozzarella at our local Swiss-Mexican restaurant. We hadn’t made nachos for years, but during the World Cup, we ate dairy-free nachos with black beans and corn and topped with cilantro and thinly sliced radishes. Not as good as ones made with real cheese, but still an excellent alternative.

The Italian company that makes MozzaRisella also makes CreamyRisella, but I didn’t start buying this other product right away. Then, The Kitchn posted their easy recipe for Fluffy Ricotta Pancakes, and I wondered about using the CreamyRisella as a substitute for the ricotta. It worked from the start, and with a few other modifications, I now have a pancake that even my oldest son will eat. On Sunday, I served them for brunch with fresh raspberries and a side of bacon.


Lemon “Ricotta” Pancakes

Serves 3-4 people

(dairy/egg/nut-free)

3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice mixed with 1 tablespoon flax meal
1 package of CreamyRisella (200 grams)
2 tablespoons canola oil
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon cider vinegar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla sugar (or vanilla extract)
zest of 2 lemons
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cup soy or rice milk (I’ve been using Alnatura’s Soja Drink-Vanille from Migros)

1. In a large bowl, stir together the lemon juice and the flax meal and set aside for a few minutes.

2. Then, add the next six ingredients to the flax meal mixture and whisk together until smooth: CreamyRisella, oil, sugar, cider vinegar, vanilla sugar and lemon zest.

3. Whisk together the dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Next, gently whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients in about 2 batches, alternating with the soy or rice milk. Do not overbeat.

4. Using a measuring cup, pour pancake batter on a medium-high heated skillet. Flip the pancake once air bubbles throughout the pancake begin to burst. Cook about 1-3 minutes on each side, until light golden brown, and serve warm.

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes 2 2736x2726
Full disclosure: This is not a sponsored post, nor did I receive any compensation. The opinions expressed on this blog are solely my own.

What’s your favorite vegan cheese? Have you tried MozzaRisella? I’m curious to hear about other vegan cheeses in Switzerland and beyond. Please leave a comment below or send me an email. Thanks!

7 Comments on “Recipe: Lemon “Ricotta” Pancakes”

  1. I love this recipe…do come over and join us at the new vegetarian foodie group “Sharing food with Shivaay Delights”

    https://m.facebook.com/groups/1433687623575418?ref=m_notif&notif_t=group_activity

    Can’t wait to see you there

    Regards D :)

    • Heddi says:

      Hello D! Thanks for visiting my blog and for your thoughtful comment. Look forward to following your blog as well. All the best, Heddi

  2. Stephanie says:

    Oh, I would love to find something like this! First, though, I need to locate an organic store. Our little Migros and Coop here don’t stock much in the way of allergy-free ingredients!

    • Heddi says:

      Hi Stephanie! Yes, while I think the selection is improving at the major grocery stores, but I have yet to see a vegan cheese option at either. Good luck, and please let me know if you find anything new. Many thanks, Heddi

  3. Sophie33 says:

    I made them & loved them so much! They are superb,…I used wholegrain spelt flour for the normal flour in here! :) MMM!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers