Egg Substitute: Flax Meal and Banana Pancakes

Banana pancakes on zebra-print plates from our temporary Swiss apartment.

March 17, 2013 – UPDATE: After lots of experimenting, I came up with a recipe for Banana-Cardamom Pancakes. Please let me know what you think, if you try it out. Thanks!

All the grocery stores are closed on Sundays in our new Swiss city, so I stocked up on groceries for today’s meals. We’ve been eating a lot of cold cereal lately, so I made a hot breakfast this morning: pancakes. Because we’re still living in our temporary apartment, I haven’t stocked up on all the baking basics yet. I whipped together a quick allergy-friendly pancake with ingredients I had on hand, including some King Arthur flax meal I picked up in the U.S. before we left. I was happy to find this flax meal because it’s processed in a facility free of the eight most common allergens.

Flax meal can serve as an egg substitute. Apparently, we can also use it a butter substitute. However, my box of flax meal advises not using it to substitute both in the same recipe. All you have to do is mix 1 T. flax meal with 3 T. water and let it sit for 10 minutes. This allows it to become gelatinous and take on an egg-like consistency. My oldest son enjoyed mixing this together and seeing the results, like a little scientific experiment in our kitchen.

We had old bananas that were being overtaken by fruit flies (no screens on the windows here), so I mashed one up and threw it in my pancake batter, along with the flax meal mixture, some flour, sugar, olive oil and soy milk. The results were a somewhat doughy and chewy pancake that we all could eat and enjoy.

Now if I can just figure out where they keep the yeast and baking powder at the grocery store!

2 thoughts on “Egg Substitute: Flax Meal and Banana Pancakes

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      Thanks, Jeana! I’ve been wondering this too… We’ve had so many other things to buy, this has been at the bottom of our list when I’m running around with the boys trying to decipher ingredients in French/German/Italian. Hopefully I’ll track it down soon, though!

Leave a Reply

