No-Recipe Biscuits and Focaccia Bread

We found baking powder and yeast! My husband spotted small packets of both at a local grocery store. So far, I’ve been making allergy-friendly drop biscuits with olive oil and soy milk for the family. My food-allergic son loves them, while his older brother complains that they’re too dry (they often are). Biscuits are a quick and easy way for me to make a bread product for my food-allergic son.

In our small Swiss city, it seems you can find a boulangerie (a bread shop or bakery) on almost every street. As mentioned before, we’ve been keeping our distance. From what I’ve been hearing, the baked goods either have eggs, milk or nuts as an ingredient or were made on shared equipment.

Today, I attempted a yeasted focaccia bread, sans recipe or measuring cups/spoons. Before we left for Switzerland, I had started making this bread regularly using an Epicurious recipe, as well as a recipe from my favorite Betty Crocker cookbook. From what I’ve seen, focaccia generally has few ingredients, all of which can be allergy-friendly. Plus, it bakes for a short period of time. This loaf was in the oven for about 20 minutes.

I’m hopeful that the quality and variety of my baking will improve again once we move to our permanent apartment (we’re signing a lease next week). Plus, our shipping container should hopefully be arriving soon with all our belongings. Until then, drop biscuits and focaccia bread serve as quick, safe and relatively tasty options for my family.

If you have recipes to share for allergy-friendly bread, please leave a comment below or send an email to dairyfreeswitzerland@gmail.com. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “No-Recipe Biscuits and Focaccia Bread

  1. Krista says:

    Hi Heddi! Hope you’re all starting to settle in a bit and enjoying your new home!
    Re: bread, did you ever hear about/try baking “Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day”? It’s a book, with lots of variations on a basic recipe. It’s really easy, just a few ingredients (no dairy or eggs), and very adaptable. The biggest obstacle is having space in your fridge to store the dough — you make up a big quantity at once, and use over a 2-wk period. No kneading required. I could send you the basic directions sometime if you want…

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      Hi Krista! Thanks for suggesting this. I remember you mentioning it. Right now, we have a dorm-size fridge, and I’ve only seen flour in bags that hold about 3-4 cups. Once we get in our new apartment, we’ll have a little more space and hopefully I can find bigger quantities of flour. Maybe we’ll have to try this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

