Cocoa and FauxPB Cookies

I love chocolate and peanut butter. Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, Ben & Jerry’s Chubby Hubby ice cream, Peanut Butter M&M’s, and Trader Joe’s peanut butter-filled chocolate-covered pretzels. I could eat these things ALL DAY. Unfortunately, my little guy can’t because of his allergies.

This afternoon during naptime, I whipped together some quick allergy-friendly cookies with ingredients from our local market and a jar of Trader Joe’s sunflower nut butter from our suitcase. Peanut butter is such an easy snack/lunch option for kids, and we had tried replacing it with soy nut butter, but none of us really liked the taste. I bought sunflower nut butter for the first time a few weeks ago and found it much tastier than the soy option.

While my son avoids eating soy or sunflower nut butter on bread or crackers, he ate it up when hidden in these cookies. When throwing ingredients in the bowl, I had my favorite Whole Grain Chocolate Cookies recipe in mind. I added sunflower nut butter, vegetable-based margarine, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt, soy milk, oats, and flour. I ended up dumping in too much salt, so I added some sugar on top of the dough balls to sweeten them up a bit.

I baked the cookies for about 10-15 minutes. They tasted great, according to my family, and I thought so too. My oldest son who won’t normally touch the sunflower butter, ate and enjoyed an entire cookie. I thought these were easy and quick to make, and provided a good chocolate and peanut butter alternative for children with food allergies. Now I need to perfect the measurements! And, find a store in Switzerland that sells sunflower nut butter…

I would like to include some links to stores/shops/restaurants in Switzerland that offer food allergy-friendly options. If you have any suggestions, please leave a comment below or send an email to dairyfreeswitzerland@gmail.com. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Cocoa and FauxPB Cookies

Leave a Reply

