Chinese Pancakes and Maple Bundt Cake

My in-laws have been visiting us, and I’m sad to see them leave today. I miss having them so close by. We love Switzerland, but being far away from family and friends is the hardest part of living here.

With the extra pairs of eyes around to watch the kids, I’ve had more time to myself in the kitchen. Plus, there’s been a larger audience to test out my allergy-friendly cooking experiments. This week, I tried out two new recipes that I wanted to share.


Sher Ping Pancakes

My wonderful colleagues purchased a great cookbook for me as a going away present—Best of the Best Cookbook Recipes: The Best Recipes from the 25 Best Cookbooks of the Year (2011). I tried out a few recipes before we left, which were all delicious and easy. Yesterday, I tried another new recipe for our family lunch: Jamie Oliver’s Sher Ping Pancakes.

These Chinese pancakes took a little more time than I usually have, but they were still easy and tasted very good. I used a mixture of ground beef and pork, and substituted crushed red pepper in place of the Szechuan pepper. It’s a great make-ahead recipe; the pancakes would be perfect for a picnic lunch when it’s hard to find an allergy-friendly restaurant.

My generous brother-in-law purchased a huge jug of Vermont maple syrup for us, and my husband’s thoughtful parents hauled it in their suitcases to Switzerland. We haven’t seen maple syrup in the stores here, and certainly not a gallon of the grade B stuff we received. I took advantage of our syrup stockpile and made a bundt cake with nearly 2 cups of this very special ingredient. Here’s a modified version of a Vegetarian Times recipe:

 

Maple Syrup Bundt Cake

(dairy/egg/nut-free)

3 1/2 cups white or whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups and 2 tablespoons of pure maple syrup
2/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon sucre vanillé (powdered vanilla sugar, since liquid vanilla seems hard to come by here)
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
1 1/3 cups water
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting (or use the glaze recipe below)

1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Use non-dairy butter and flour to coat a 10-cup Bundt pan.

2. Mix dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in bowl.

3. Mix wet ingredients: maple syrup, oil, vanilla sugar, cider vinegar, and 1 1/3 cups water in a separate bowl. Stir in flour mixture until just blended.

4. Pour batter into the prepared pan. Bake 50 to 60 minutes.

 

Maple Syrup Glaze

I adapted this recipe from the Naptime Chef’s version because I didn’t have enough powdered sugar on hand.

2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
2 tablespoons dairy-free margarine
½ cup sugar

Mix ingredients together and warm slowly over medium-high heat. Stir constantly until the sugar dissolve, it becomes smooth and thickens slightly. Cool glaze to room temperature. Then, use a spoon to drizzle it over the bundt cake.

Don’t forget! National Bundt Day is on November 15, 2012. I will be featuring three allergy-friendly bundt cakes—recipes to be determined…                                                                      

8 thoughts on “Chinese Pancakes and Maple Bundt Cake

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      Thanks, Marianne! I couldn’t find maple extract (and I added less vanilla than the original recipe called for), so I just added more syrup. You’ll have to let me know how it turns out and/or if you have any other suggestions. Happy baking! 🙂

  1. Everyday Commotion says:

    These both look amazing! Do you know I never owned a Bundt pan until about a month ago? But all your bundt cakes over the years inspired me to get one. Now I need to try it out. Maybe the kids and I will attempt both recipes this weekend.

  2. Laura Opsahl says:

    Those pancakes look delicious, I think I will give them a try! I shouldn’t read your blog so late, now I have to go to bed dreaming of bunt cakes.

Leave a Reply

