Rainy Day Empanadas and Baked Apples

Today was a rainy Saturday, so we spent most of it indoors. I tried taking advantage of the weather by making allergy-friendly empanadas for lunch and baked apples for our afternoon, post-nap snack. With nearly all the grocery stores closed on Sunday, I try to get all our shopping and baking/cooking done on Saturday. Then on Sunday, we have more time to spend together as a family.

We’ve been reading through the Laura Ingalls Wilder books with our 5-year old, and living here almost feels like we’re back in that era when Sunday meant a day of rest. In Switzerland, we’re apparently not even supposed to do laundry on Sundays, even though we sneak in a load from time to time. For now, I’m attempting to fully embrace our new lifestyle, including my new role as a stay-at-home mom.


Butternut Squash and Mushroom Empanadas

I love empanadas, and since we’ve moved here, I’ve started making them at home. My favorite empanada filling is beef with raisins, olives and hard-boiled eggs, but we’ve had to skip the eggs for now because of my son’s allergy. For today’s lunch, I made butternut squash and chanterelle empanadas with a hint of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. At our farmers’ market, a vendor always has a table piled high with chanterelles, something I rarely cooked with in the United States. Now, they’re easy to find and so delicious.

I tried using some vegan empanada dough recipes, but today I used a new recipe with flax meal as an egg substitute (1 tablespoon flax meal plus 3 tablespoons water). The dough tasted great and was really easy to handle (i.e., not sticky). It called for white vinegar, but cider vinegar worked out just fine.

My oldest son wasn’t thrilled about the mushrooms, but I filled some with refried beans, and they were well-received. You can fill empanadas with anything, and they’re easy to make in advance—during naptime, for example. The leftovers will serve as our lunch tomorrow, which may occur during an excursion to a nearby castle.


Baked Apples

At our local bookstore, I picked up my first Swiss cookbook. Most of the recipes call for lots of dairy and eggs, but this one happened to avoid my son’s allergens: Baked apples stuffed with sweetened cornmeal. It was simple to make, and we used apples from the farmers’ market. My food-allergic son wouldn’t touch it (sometimes he can be quite finicky), but we’ll definitely try it again.

I’ve started a Facebook page for Dairy-Free Switzerland. Please click the link and “like” the page to receive updates about new blog posts and to share/gather information about living with food allergies in Switzerland and beyond. Thanks so much!

7 thoughts on “Rainy Day Empanadas and Baked Apples

Leave a Reply

