Celebrating Bundt Day 2012

Yesterday was National Bundt Day, a wonderful holiday started in my native Minnesota that celebrates the start of the holiday baking season. Every year, my sister and I bake three bundt cakes each. This year marks my first time making all allergy-friendly cakes free of eggs, dairy and nuts for my food-allergic son. Unfortunately, my little guy misses out on lots of Swiss sweet treats. Luckily, he can still have delicious homemade bundts! Here’s a quick rundown of the day’s activities and the recipes for my three cakes.

6:21 AM – Put bundt cake #1 in the oven. I adapted this recipe from The Great Scandinavian Baking Book by Beatrice Ojakangas (1988). It was so easy to make, and we all loved it.

 

Swedish Sugar Cake

2 cups flour
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 Tablespoons flax meal mixed with 9 Tablespoons water
1 cup + 2 tablespoons rice milk mixed with 1/3 cup melted dairy-free margarine

1. Mix all ingredients together well in a large bowl. Butter and flour a 10-12 cup bundt pan. Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake at 350°F/180°C for 55-60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean. Cool for about 15-20 minutes and remove from pan. Dust with powdered sugar.

 

12:25 PM – Put bundt cake #2 in the oven.


Blueberry-Ginger Bundt Cake

The original recipe from the Cake Duchess called for lemon zest and juice. However, I had somehow imagined purchasing a lemon because none could be found in my kitchen. I need more sleep! I had fresh ginger on hand, so I finely grated about 1 Tablespoon of it and increased the liquid by another ¼ cup or so.

For the glaze, I mixed powdered sugar with vanilla sugar and rice milk until I got the right consistency. With the glaze, the cake tasted at little like a blueberry doughnut. Everybody loved this one, and I’ll definitely try making it again with a lemon.

1:00 PM – Put courge (pumpkin-like squash) in the oven to bake. I can’t find canned pumpkin here, so I made my own pumpkin puree for bundt cake #3.

3:00 PM – Dropped off oldest son at his piano lesson.

4:30 PM – Gave food-allergic son some Benadryl after he broke out in red hives around his mouth. We weren’t eating anything, so the cause is unknown. It happened right after we returned from the grocery store, and he was in the stroller the entire time. He’s teething now (about 5 teeth are arriving all at once), so his hands are constantly in his mouth. Maybe his brother had something on his hands and touched him? It’s so frustrating (and scary) not knowing what causes his reactions sometimes, and that such a small amount can have such an effect. The hives eventually went away, and he was fine, but I kept my eye on him closely for about an hour.

6:30 PM – Attended a “welcome event” sponsored by the Ville de Neuchâtel for newcomers, which included a children’s choir, mother-daughter Zumba performance (apparently the city sponsors these classes?) and wine and cheese reception.

9:55 PM – Took bundt cake #3 out of the oven.


Chocolate-Pumpkin Bundt Cake

I always make at least one chocolate cake for Bundt Day. This year, I found a Vegan Chocolate Pumpkin Bundt Cake recipe online, and it was also an easy one. The baking time of 60-70 minutes surprised me, but I wish I would have followed these instructions. My cake is a little too moist and stuck to the pan a bit, but the flavor is great. Thankfully, a little powdered sugar covered up most of the imperfections.

Overall, we had another successful Bundt Day. I’ve had to learn a new way of baking bundts because of my son’s food allergies, but we didn’t have to give them up altogether. When I asked my family which of the three bundts they liked the best, they couldn’t pick a favorite. ­­­I will continue to search for and share new allergy-friendly bundt cakes because at our home we enjoy them all year long, not just on November 15th.

4 thoughts on “Celebrating Bundt Day 2012

  1. Aubrey says:

    I’m so excited about your blog! I have a 9 month old with a milk protein allergy and I live in Lausanne so I’m actually the one who has to go dairy free. And it’s hard in this land of delicious dairy things 😉 BTW, I bought puréed pumpkin at Globus. Not sure if you have those where you are but worth a shot. The cans of pumpkins were about 6chf and I know I’ve lived here too long because that didn’t seem too bad to me (I’m from NC originally)!

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      Hi Aubrey! Thanks for your kind note. Yes, so hard living without dairy. Luckily, it’s something that our kids will hopefully grow out of! Good to know about Globus – I appreciate the tip. The one in our town just moved to the suburbs, but maybe we’ll have to make the trip for canned pumpkin. 6CHF? Yowza… 🙂 So glad we can connect this way, and let’s keep in touch. If you have suggestions for the blog, please don’t hesitate to email me.

Leave a Reply

