Thanksgiving Playdate

For our first Thanksgiving in Switzerland, I decided on a whim to host a playdate with some of my oldest son’s classmates. It was wonderful having our apartment filled with friends for the holiday. I served some homemade, allergy-friendly snacks and even had Thanksgiving-themed bricolage for the kids.

For my food-allergic son, it always seems easier hosting guests at our place. I can control the menu to make sure his food is safe by avoiding individual ingredients and any potential for cross-contamination. This just seems too much to ask of someone else who’s not used to it.

Not only does hosting help to lessen my worries, it also lets me to try out some new dairy, egg and nut-free recipes on folks other than my family. As usual, I made way too much food, including a Quince Tarte Tatin that I didn’t serve because one of the guests brought an apple tart that looked so much better. Instead, we ate my dessert later that night after our turkey dinner. Real butter would have probably helped the caramel and the crust, but it still tasted good.

Of course, I also made a bundt cake. This time, I used an adapted version of Martha Stewart’s Spicy Pumpkin Bundt Cake. Instead of eggs and buttermilk, I used 4 tablespoons flax meal mixed with 12 tablespoons water and I cup of rice milk mixed with 1 tablespoon cider vinegar.

Overall, I hope people had fun at our little Thanksgiving playdate. I’m so grateful for the new friends we’ve made here. I particularly appreciate them putting up with my limited French and my constant questions about life in Switzerland.

As a reminder, please “like” the new Facebook page for Dairy-Free Switzerland to receive and share information about living with food allergies in Switzerland and beyond. Thanks so much!

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Playdate

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      Thanks! Hope you had a good Thanksgiving too. I use one tablespoon whole flax meal (i.e., ground flax seed) mixed with three tablespoons water. If you let it set for about 5 minutes or so, it turns into a thick, gooey substance. Does this help?

Leave a Reply

