Walensee and Accommodations with Kitchens

Our oldest son had school vacation last week, so we took a short trip to Walensee in the Swiss canton of St. Gallen, and also visited the small country of Liechtenstein. We stayed at a beautiful resort, right on the lake in Unterterzen. The small town nearby had grocery stores with allergy-friendly options, so we didn’t have to worry about finding restaurants.

Walensee, the view from our apartment

Walensee, the view from our apartment

Whenever we travel now, I always search for hotels or apartments with kitchens to prepare our own meals and snacks. When our oldest son was a toddler, we also did this because it just made everything less stressful—especially when we were managing early and messy mealtimes. Now with our youngest son’s multiple food allergies (milk, eggs and almonds), it’s easier and safer for us to avoid restaurants when traveling.

For Switzerland, I’ve been using Booking.com to try and find accommodations with kitchens, but it’s not always the quickest option. There’s no search feature that I’ve come across with a box to check for “kitchens.” You can search for “aparthotels” or “apartments,” but I’ve noticed it doesn’t always capture all the options. I read the descriptions and hope to find something that fits our needs. Most recently, I came across Resort Walensee, which we highly recommend. It has a great location on a beautiful lake, clean and fully-equipped apartments with kitchens, swimming pool (the boys were overjoyed) and friendly staff, etc.

Landal Resort Walensee, Unterterzen

Landal Resort Walensee, Unterterzen

On our first day there, we drove to the small town of Walenstadt, about 5 minutes away. We had looked online in advance, so we knew it would have a Migros and Coop for food and other supplies. Situated below a beautiful mountain range, we enjoyed exploring this picturesque town (despite a major 5-year old meltdown on the main street).

The picturesque village of Walenstadt

The picturesque village of Walenstadt

Delicious Swiss-German Baked Goods

Per usual, I checked out the local bakery in town. This being the German side of Switzerland, I wanted to see how baked goods compared to our options in Suisse-Romande. We picked out four items to take home, including what I think (I don’t speak any German) was a fried pear turnover, a chocolate pinwheel cookie, a sweet sugar-topped bread knot and a soft pretzel. We ate them back at the resort while my food-allergic son was sleeping. So delicious!

Since my little guy missed out on these tasty baked treats, this week I tried to recreate two allergy-friendly versions of the baked goods at home. I grabbed some recipes online and re-worked them with soy or rice milk, veggie-based margarine and flax meal. No, they didn’t taste nearly as good as the real thing. And, I don’t have any recipes to post yet because, while they were edible, I haven’t perfected their ingredients/instructions. My experiments don’t always turn out, but at least I know they’re safe for my food-allergic son.

My lackluster attempts to recreate allergy-friendly Swiss-German treats

My attempts to recreate allergy-friendly Swiss-German treats

Accommodations with Kitchens

Have you traveled in Switzerland with food allergies? Where did you end up staying? Did you have a kitchen or kitchenette? You may have noticed I created a new page for “Accommodations,” as I would like to develop a directory of allergy-friendly hotels, resorts, apartments, etc. for folks traveling in Switzerland with food allergies.

I want to make sure people with food allergies still have access to travel. However (as we’re finding out), renting a place with a kitchen isn’t necessarily a cheaper option, but it can be a safer option. And, we save money, since eating out can be costly—especially here in Switzerland.

So, if you have any suggestions for allergy-friendly Swiss accommodations—particularly those with kitchens, kitchenettes or hotels with allergy-friendly restaurants—please leave a comment below or send an email to dairyfreeswitzerland@gmail.com. Thanks!

Hope you are having a great weekend! It’s starting to feel like spring here in our corner of Switzerland, though I hear we’re expecting some snow next week?

4 thoughts on “Walensee and Accommodations with Kitchens

  1. Sandy Shaw says:

    Hi Heddi, That sounds like a great adventure to such a scenic area. We just returned from 5 days in Florida and while we were gone there was still another snowstorm so we have to shovel this morning. Lindsey and Ryan are coming up this morning to drop off the boys while they go house hunting. This means we will have lots of help from small shovelers. Your photos of your baked goods always look very delicious! Xo

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Florencia says:

    Valuable information. Lucky me I discovered your site by accident,
    and I’m surprised why this coincidence did not happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

Comments are closed.