Salée à la Crème – Reinvented

One of my very thoughtful readers here in Switzerland shared her recipe for Salée à la Crème, which she reinvented with coconut milk because of her dairy allergy. A traditional tart from the canton de Vaud, I first tried the original version at a child’s birthday party last year. Its sweet, yellow custard fills a shell of semi-savory bread dough. With the look and feel of pizza, it’s not uncommon to eat this delicious treat with your hands.

vaud cake

Recipes for Salée à la Crème (salty creme) or Salée Sucre (salty sweet) call for dairy products and eggs, which we’re avoiding because of my son’s allergies. While the tart ingredients can vary—including vanilla, cinnamon, fruit or apparently even bacon—the recipes I’ve seen always call for dairy and eggs. That’s why I was so excited to receive a new version of Salée à la Crème that’s safe for our son.

I made the recipe at least three times now (my husband says four), and with just a few minor tweaks, I’m ready to share it. I absolutely love trying out new Swiss recipes, and I’m so thankful for the kind reader who sent this to me. While it doesn’t look exactly like a traditional Salée à la Crème, it’s allergy-friendly and tastes delicious. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

 

Salée à la Crème

(dairy/egg/nut-free)

For the dough:
2 cups flour
3 tablespoons sugar
2 1/4 teaspoons yeast
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons coconut oil
1/2 cup rice milk
1 tablespoon flax meal plus 3 tablespoons water

For the crème:
1 1/4 cups coconut milk
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon wheat or corn starch
1 1/2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (optional)
1 teaspoon vanilla sugar

1. Whisk together dry ingredients for the dough: flour, sugar, yeast and salt.

2. Mix the flax meal with water and let set for a few minutes. Gently heat oil and rice milk in a saucepan over low heat, mixing occasionally until oil is melted.

3. Mix dry and wet ingredients and form a soft dough. Knead the dough until smooth and elastic, adding extra flour as necessary. Place in bowl and let rise until nearly doubled in size (about 1 hour.)

4. Once the dough is ready, whisk together all the crème ingredients until well-blended.

5. Line an 11 1/2-inch cake or tart pan with parchment paper. Then, gently roll out the dough into a large circle. Press dough into the pan. Make sure the sides of the dough are about 1/2 to 3/4 inch high.

DSC08479

6. Carefully pour the crème mixture into the center. Place with care, so not to spill the crème, in an oven preheated to 180°C/350°F. Bake for 30-35 minutes, when the crust is nicely golden and the crème has set. Serve at room temperature, preferably the same day it’s prepared.

DSC08482

DSC08495

Please note: In the last 5 minutes of baking, you may sprinkle the crème with sugar to lightly brown the top.

 

As always, if you have Swiss recipes to share, please leave a comment below or send an email to dairyfreeswitzerland@gmail.com. Tomorrow is Labour Day, so we’ll be enjoying a day off of work and school. Hope you’re having a great week!

4 thoughts on “Salée à la Crème – Reinvented

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      Thanks, Holly! And, I’m glad you asked this question. We’re avoiding eggs, and flax meal (or ground flax seeds) is my favorite substitute. If you mix 1 tablespoon with 3 tablespoons of water, it becomes gelatinous and roughly equals 1 egg. My favorite is from King Arthur Flour in the U.S. (http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/items/whole-flax-meal-16-oz). My family has been kind of enough to bring me a few boxes when they visit! 🙂

      If I remember correctly, you’re avoiding peanuts and tree nuts (?), so hopefully you can omit the flax meal mixture and add 1 egg instead. That’s how the recipe came to me actually, but I had to adjust it for my son. Hope all is well, and thanks again! -Heddi

  1. Holly says:

    Also just to say my neighbour often makes pancakes for dinner (savoury and sweet) and instead of milk uses coconut milk for me. They are delicious.

Leave a Reply

