Introducing Milk, Elderflower Syrup and (Soy) Yogurt Cake

With our most recent food challenge behind us, I’m back to cooking and baking sans milk. Following our allergist’s protocol, we’ve started introducing a small amount of milk to our son every day at home, and it’s a huge improvement. For the last four days, I’ve mixed exactly 10 mL (2 teaspoons) of cold cow’s milk into his morning cup of soy milk. Each time, he’s developed a few red hives around his mouth, but thankfully that’s all—even though it freaks me out every time.

We’ll continue doing this for the next month as long as he isn’t sick, as it could change how his immune system reacts to milk. If all goes well, we’ll eventually increase his daily dose. This process will continue for one year, at which time we’ll repeat the food challenge.

Before the food challenge last week, I made the most wonderful cake (see recipe below). I hoped it would be the topic of my last blog post. How could I continue Dairy-Free Switzerland if my son had outgrown his milk allergy? Even though he’s still allergic, I’m thankful we’ve learned his tolerance for milk is relatively high—as long as we keep the quantity very low. So, I won’t be shutting down Dairy-Free Switzerland just yet…


Springtime Elderflowers

After my recent cooking adventures with foraged plants, I was excited to receive a small bunch of fragrant elderflowers. The petite white flowers came with my friend’s recommendation to use them in syrup. What new creations could I make with elderflower syrup?

elderflowercollage

From what I’ve heard, the Swiss often use elderflower syrup in drinks—both with and without alcohol (it’s very refreshing in a G&T). Many recipes for elderflower syrup call for citric acid, which acts as a preservative. Instead, I found a quick recipe without citric acid, which means we’ll need to use it before it starts to ferment! After my husband made it, we discovered Coop sells elderflower syrup or “fleurs de sureau,” which has a little more color than our homemade version and a slightly more pungent flavor.

elderflowersyrup

 

Lemon Elderflower Yogurt Cake

I was hunting for a lemon cake I could supplement with our elderflower syrup and found this wonderful yogurt cake recipe from David Lebovitz via the Gluten-Free Girl Everyday by Shauna James Ahern. My son is fine with gluten, but he’s allergic to dairy and eggs. So I made a few quick changes, along with the addition of elderflower syrup. I know I always write this, but this is my new favorite cake recipe! Hope you like it too.

(dairy/egg/nut-free)

Dry ingredients:
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2  teaspoon baking soda
1/2  teaspoon salt

Wet ingredients:
1 1/4 cups sugar
1/4 cup elderflower syrup
1 cup soy yogurt
1/2 vegetable oil
2 tablespoons flax meal mixed with 6 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
zest of one lemon

Glaze:
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
2-3 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 tablespoon elderflower syrup

1. Preheat oven to 180°C/350°F. Grease a 9-inch (23 cm) cake pan and line the bottom with parchment paper.

2. Whisk together dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients: sugar, syrup, yogurt, oil, flax meal mixture, lemon juice and lemon zest until smooth.

DSC09490

4. In batches, gradually fold in the dry ingredients to the wet ingredient mixture, just until the dry ingredients are completely incorporated. Do not overmix.

5. Scrape the batter into the prepared cake pan and bake for 40-45 minutes, or until a toothpick placed in the cake’s center comes out clean.

6. Cool the cake for about 15 minutes. Then, run a knife around the cake to loosen it and gently remove from the pan. Peel off the parchment paper and let the cake cool completely, right side up, on a wire rack.

7. For the glaze, mix the ingredients together until smooth. Pour it in the center of the top of the cake. Using a spoon or spatula, spread the glaze and let it drip down the sides. Best enjoyed within 3 days; do not refrigerate.

DSC09497

DSC09518

 

I’ll be making another birthday cake this week. After last week’s baking disasters, I may delegate the task to my 5-year old. Hope you’re having a good week!

4 thoughts on “Introducing Milk, Elderflower Syrup and (Soy) Yogurt Cake

Leave a Reply

