Birthday Cinnamon Rolls and Hail Storm

Yesterday was my husband’s birthday. Before my morning run, I quickly made some dough for cinnamon rolls. The recipe came from my favorite Betty Crocker cookbook, which I adapted to be dairy, egg and nut-free. While I think it’s possible to find cinnamon pastries in Switzerland (pain or brioche à la canelle or franzbrotchen), I wanted to make big and doughy American-style cinnamon rolls that the whole family could enjoy for breakfast.

DSC09606

 

Cinnamon Rolls

(dairy/egg/nut-free)

Dough:
3 ½ to 4 cups flour
⅓ cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
4 ½ teaspoons yeast
1 cup very warm rice milk
⅓ cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon flax meal mixed with 3 tablespoons water

Filling:
2 tablespoons dairy-free margarine
¼ cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Glaze:
½ cup powdered sugar
¼ teaspoons vanilla sugar
2-3 teaspoons rice milk

1. Whisk together 2 cups of flour with sugar, salt and yeast in a large bowl. Add the warm rice milk, oil and flax meal mixture. Mix together well and form a wet dough.

2. Then, add the remaining flour to make the dough easy to handle. Knead the dough on a floured surface for about 5 minutes until smooth and elastic. Cover and let rise for about 1 hour or until doubled in size.

3. After it’s risen, punch down the dough. Flatten with hands or rolling pin into a rectangle, about 10-15 inches (25-38 cm) on a floured surface.

4. Spread the 2 tablespoons of margarine on the dough. Mix the brown sugar and cinnamon, and sprinkle evenly over the dough.

5. Roll the dough into a tight cylinder and cut into about 10-15 pieces. Let rise in a greased pan for another 15-30 minutes. Then, bake at 180°C/350°F for 30 minutes.

6. Remove from oven and let cool for about 10 minutes. Whisk together the glaze ingredients and drizzle over the rolls.

DSC09609


Massive Hail Storm

In the evening, a huge hail storm swept through Switzerland. As I was making dinner and putting the final touches on my (soy) yogurt birthday cake, the skies darkened and the wind picked up. Chunks of hail started falling and accumulating like snow. My husband walked home in the storm, and snapped a photo of the icy debris.

2013-06-20 17.52.45

Hope you have wonderful plans for the first official weekend of summer. Bon week-end!

7 thoughts on “Birthday Cinnamon Rolls and Hail Storm

  1. Rachael Quin says:

    Hi,
    These look delicious! A quick question before I get started… Is the flax meal an optional extra, or is it used as an egg replacement? My son is allergic to sesame, and I’ve read that flax and poppy seeds can cause the same reaction, so I avoid them too.
    Thanks!
    Rachael

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      Hi Rachael, Thanks for your great question. I really appreciate your kind feedback. The flax meal mixture does serve as an egg replacement. I’ve never made these rolls without it. If eggs are OK for your son, than just substitute 1 egg for the flax meal. If eggs aren’t OK, then just use your favorite egg substitute (and let me know how they turn out!). 🙂

      I hadn’t heard of a connection between sesame and flax and poppy seed allergies before. We were avoiding sesame for a while, and our allergists never mentioned poppy or flax seeds as additional foods to avoid. If you remember where you read about this, please send me the link.

      Thank you so much. Hope this recipe ends up working for you! -Heddi

      • Rachael Quin says:

        Hi Heddi,
        Thank you for your super quick reply – I do have an egg-replacer, so will test out the recipe and will let you know how it goes!
        This is where I read abut sesame/poppy/flax relationship – http://www.allergyexpert.us/food/sesameseed.html. The dietician we originally consulted mentioned avoiding poppy seeds if you have a sesame allergy, which prompted me to read up further. I tend to think twice about anything seed-related, including pumpkin, and I’m not sure about sunflower seeds, even though my son has sunflower oil without problem (I use it in baking). It’s tricky knowing how cautious to be!
        Rachael

      • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

        Rachael, thanks so much for sending this link. Here’s another link for you from the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (AAAAI) that mentions the http://www.allergyexpert.us info. http://www.aaaai.org/ask-the-expert/Cross-reactivity-between-sesame-and-flaxseed,-and-.aspx When in doubt, I always ask our son’s allergists. I try to read as much as I can, but I’m certainly not a medical professional! 🙂 Hope the rolls turn out OK, and thanks again for your very thoughtful comments. -Heddi

    • Heddi says:

      Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog. I think coconut milk should work. Would just change the flavor a bit. Please let me know how it turns out! Best wishes, Heddi

Leave a Reply

