Swiss Gooseberries: Sweet and Savory

At the farmer’s market over the weekend, my husband picked up some fresh strawberries and “groseilles à maquereau” or gooseberries. Years ago, he worked at a summer birding retreat in coastal Maine and has fond memories of making pies with local blueberries, raspberries and goose­­berries. For me, this was my first experience eating and cooking with the juicy, tart berries.

DSC09637

2013-06-25 09.23.47

I lack the patience required for making pies, particularly when it comes to the crust. This time, I found inspiration in Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s “rough-edged tart” (a.k.a., free-form/rustic tart or galette) with strawberries and gooseberries.

First, I adapted a crust recipe from Mark Bittman to make it dairy and egg free. Then, I added a mixture of gooseberries, strawberries, wheat starch, sugar and vanilla sugar. It was a wee bit runny, so I’ll use some more starch next time.

DSC09709

Tomorrow, I’ll use my leftover gooseberries to make a savory gooseberry and sage sauce. What are your favorite gooseberry recipes?

4 thoughts on “Swiss Gooseberries: Sweet and Savory

  1. Sandy Shaw says:

    Hi Heddi, Grandpa always talked about eating gooseberries. Carol and I used to pick them in the grove before they used Round up and killed all the weeds. I am a big fan of your blog.

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      Hi Sandra! My mom mentioned picking gooseberries on the farm too. 🙂 Now I know why the grandkids don’t have the same memories. Thanks for sharing this, and for being such an avid reader of my blog. Very much appreciated. -Heddi

  2. Stephanie says:

    Last year we made jam! Just cook them in a little water with sugar until they split and crush nicely, then cook down to a syrupy-jam consistency. It didn’t last long!

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      Hi Stephanie! How are you doing?? Gooseberry jam was really the only use I was familiar with for these tart little berries before last week. Sounds delicious. I may need to stock up on gooseberries at the market again today. 🙂 Hope all is well. -Heddi

Leave a Reply

