Product Recall: Migros Soy Milk

When I checked our mailbox this morning, I was surprised to find an envelope from Migros marked with, “Information importante de votre Migros.” Inside, it contained a letter about Migros recalling a product that we routinely buy: Soja Line Drink Calcium. Apparently, some cartons of this product contain lactose-free cow’s milk instead of soy milk. You can click here for more information about the product recall, including product numbers and sell/use by dates.

2013-08-23 14.15.37

Thankfully, when I checked the five cartons we had in our cupboard, none of them had the dates listed as part of the recall. It made me wonder though… Did we serve him lactose-free milk without any reaction? I doubt it, but we’ll never know for sure. The outcome could have been disastrous.

Did you receive a similar letter from Migros? I’m so glad they sent a letter, but wish I would have known about this sooner. It looks like this recall made some of our local papers on Wednesday this week—2 days ago. I truly hope that no one with a severe milk allergy consumed this recalled product by mistake. Please help get the word out, if you know anyone that might be affected.

In the future, I hope to learn about recalls like this sooner. Switzerland’s Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) maintains a list of recalled products, and I just signed up to receive an email when the list gets updated. Here’s the link (in French), if you want to sign up too. I’ll do my best to try and share relevant food-related product recalls, as they come up.

We just made it through our first week of school. Bon week-end, everyone, and be safe! Thanks for your continued support.

 

UPDATE: A Response from Migros

I sent an email to Migros earlier this month to ask about the actions it had taken since recalling its Soja Line Drink products back in August 2013. A representative from Migros promptly wrote back, and I wanted to share what I learned. Most importantly, I was relieved to find out that the company caught the error in time, so none of the mislabeled soy milk cartons were ever sold. Since the recall, the company has reviewed its production processes and adapted them where necessary. In addition, an external certification was conducted of the production sites and monitoring processes.

If you have additional questions for Migros, you can contact the company directly via its M-Infoline.

Updated November 18, 2013

Leave a Reply

