My Husband’s Dairy-Free Apple Pie

My husband doesn’t do a lot of the daily meal preparation, especially since I became a stay-at-home mom over a year ago. Even so, he’s an accomplished baker, particularly when it comes to pies. He originally picked up the talent from his mother, who as a former home economics teacher, had him baking at a young age.

Since we learned about our son’s multiple allergies over a year and a half ago, my husband hasn’t tried making an allergy-friendly pie—until last weekend.

DSC00811


The Impact of Food Allergies on Marriage

When it comes to managing my son’s food allergies, I generally take the lead—planning the menu, reading labels at the store and preparing the meals, for example. This works for my husband and I, but managing our son’s food allergies can add a layer of stress to our marriage once in a while, even though it’s become so much easier for us over time.

Apparently, we’re not alone. A 2010 study found 1 in 4 parents of food-allergic children reported that food allergies caused a strain on their marriage. I can’t imagine a marriage or relationship in which managing a child’s food allergies wouldn’t have some impact. I’m curious about other current research, if any, on this topic. If I find out more, I’ll be sure to share it.


Fresh Apple and Currant Pie

After my long run on Sunday morning, I came home and found my family around the dining room table making pie. It was a wonderful sight, for so many reasons. Our 5-year old was cranking the peeler/slicer/corer with apples picked up at the farmers’ market the day before. Our 2-year old was stirring a huge bowl of the sliced apples mixed with sugar, cinnamon and lemon juice. My husband had made the pie crust already, which was chilling and firming up in the fridge.

DSC00764

DSC00778

My husband made his favorite pie crust recipe dairy-free with vegetable-based margarine. Other than that, he didn’t have to make any other substitutions for my son’s allergies (milk, raw egg and almond). When asked about sharing his recipe for the apple and fresh currant filling, he responded with this: “I didn’t measure, I didn’t taste. I just mixed and dumped.”

DSC00785

DSC00813

So, while my husband and I don’t always have the same approach to managing our son’s food allergies, we always make it work. He’s my partner in parenting and always has been. Among so many other things, I feel grateful for his help and support. Plus, he certainly knows how to make a great pie the whole family can enjoy. I’m very lucky.

This week, I’ve been foraging for elderberries and also working on a new Bundt cake. More to come! Hope you’re having a good week.

3 thoughts on “My Husband’s Dairy-Free Apple Pie

  1. Sandy Shaw says:

    Tell Nate that he makes great pies and adds just the right amount of sugar! Makes me hungry just looking at this photo. xoSandra

Leave a Reply

