Apricot Couronne for Breakfast

I am eagerly awaiting tonight’s finale of The Great British Bake-Off. As you may have noticed, this show has inspired some of my baking experiments during the last few months. For example, I bought a kitchen scale after watching the clever bakers weigh out their ingredients. I also made allergy-friendly English muffins. And, I’m currently working on a new vegetable cake for Bundt Day 2013.

Another great recipe I discovered from the show is for “Apricot Couronne.” Couronne means “crown” in French, which this pastry resemblesexcept it’s filled with raisins, dried apricots and orange zest. The contestants on the show made it look so easy, but it takes some careful rolling and shaping to get it right. After two attempts, I still need more practice.

For an allergy-friendly version (dairy and nut-free), here are the changes I made to the recipe:

  • No walnuts (my husband is allergic)
  • Canola oil instead of butter
  • Rice milk instead of cow’s milk
  • Roughly chopped pumpkin seeds instead of almonds

In addition to these substitutions, I baked the couronne for exactly 30 minutes, to make sure the egg was safe for my son to eat. He cannot eat raw or undercooked eggs. However, since his baked egg food challenge, eggs cooked for 30 minutes at 200°C/400°F (generally in baked goods, like breads and cakes) are okay.

We had my homemade version of Apricot Couronne for breakfast on Sunday. Both boys gave it a two thumbs up. This pastry takes time to make, so I’ll probably wait for a special occasion to attempt it again. Maybe Christmas morning when my in-laws are visiting us?

IMG_20131019_203044I finished the Apricot Couronne before bedtime (it’s a little lopsided, I know)…

DSC01761…and ate it for breakfast the next morning.

I’m hoping to discover more new recipes during tonight’s GBBO series finale. Will you be watching too? Which recipes have you tried making at home?

Leave a Reply

