Autumn Quince: Cake and Candy

I’m happy to share my latest discovery—a wonderful recipe for light and lemony quince cake. Quince (“coing” in French) is an incredibly hard fruit, but with a little extra effort, you can enjoy its delicious flavor.

After I used them in cake, I boiled down the remaining two quince to make a small batch of “pâte de coings.” These irresistible sugar-coated candies are traditionally made at Christmastime in Switzerland. I caught my 2-year old trying to crawl across the table to reach them today. He definitely has my sweet tooth!

quince_coing


I tried cooking with quince for the first time last year when I made a dairy/egg-free tarte tatin. It tasted good, but wasn’t overwhelmingly delicious. My presentation also clearly needed some work.

Thankfully, this new recipe doesn’t call for an intricate pattern of carefully arranged quince. The cake also has a high-enough baking temperature for the eggs, which means my son can safely eat it.

DSC01987

 

Quince Cake: Gâteau aux Coings

Dairy-free, with baked eggs. Recipe adapted from Femina.ch.

250 grams all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
200 grams sugar
Zest from one lemon
1/8 teaspoon salt
250 ml rice milk
2 egg yolks
2 egg whites, beaten until stiff
2 – 2 1/4 cups quince (about 2 quinces), sliced and precooked*
1 tablespoon powdered sugar (I used “Sucre brut en poudre” or raw powdered sugar)

*To make this recipe, you must precook the quince. Place thinly sliced quince in enough water to cover them. Add about 1/4 cup sugar and stir. Bring the water to a boil and simmer for about 10-15 minutes until the quince has softened. Drain the water from the quince, and they’re ready to use.

Whisk together a smooth paste with the flour, baking powder, sugar, lemon zest, salt, rice milk and egg yolks.

Beat the eggs whites in a separate bowl until they form soft peaks. Then gently fold them into the flour mixture.

Pour the batter into a greased, springform pan that’s approximately 9 inches/22-23 cm wide. Gently place the sliced ​​quince evenly on top of the cake batter. Bake at 200°C/400°F for 30 minutes.

Let cool and sprinkle with powdered sugar before serving.

DSC02005

 

Quince Candy: Pâte de Coings

This afternoon, I finished up my little quince candies (“Pâte de Coings” in French, “Quittenpästli” in German). Apparently this treat has been around Switzerland for centuries. I added a spare apple to mine, but next time I’ll only use quince. We see fruit pectin candies like this at our Swiss confiseries and markets, but they can sometimes carry a warning about potential traces of nuts. While Pâte de Coings takes time to make, it can certainly be worth the effort.

DSC02016


Bundt Day 2013 is this Friday! I’ll be posting some new dairy/egg/nut-free recipes to celebrate the holiday. What are your Bundt Day plans?

12 thoughts on “Autumn Quince: Cake and Candy

  1. Gratefulfoodie says:

    Absolutely stunning! I love quince! My husband’s mother makes a beautiful quince jam. I hope one day that we meet. You were missed at FABlogcon last week. We all would have been jealous of your beautiful baking and European elegance!

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      Thanks, Caroline! As always, you are too kind. 🙂 So glad the conference was such a huge success. Yes, would love to meet up someday. In the meantime, I’ll enjoy keeping up with your blog and the wonderful info you provide. 🙂 -Heddi

Leave a Reply

