Vegan Butternut Squash Bundt Cake

Another Bundt Day is behind us, but we still have an “abundtance” of leftover cake. One of my favorite discoveries from the Minnesota-born holiday is the butternut squash Bundt. I started searching for a recipe after seeing butternut squash used in vegetable cakes on The Great British Bake-Off.

IMG_20131115_193752

Thankfully, one of my favorite Bundt bakers, The Food Librarian, had already made a butternut squash Bundt with a recipe from Fine Cooking (I’m a huge fan of her “I Like Big Bundts” series, which has provided much inspiration for my Bundt-baking over the years). After three attempts at adapting this recipe—including one with roasted and pureed butternut—I wanted to share my updated version, made without dairy and eggs.

 

Butternut Squash Bundt Cake with Spiced Vanilla Icing and Candied Ginger

Recipe adapted from Fine Cooking, Issue 97

(dairy/egg/nut-free)

Cake ingredients:
1/2 cup dairy-free margarine, softened
1/2 cup canola oil
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1/2 cup dairy-free yogurt (I used soy yogurt)
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
2 teaspoons vanilla sugar (or vanilla extract)
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
3/4 cup rice milk
2 1/4 cups grated butternut squash

1. Heat oven to 180°C/350°F. Grease and flour a 10-cup Bundt pan.

2. In a large bowl, mix the dairy-free margarine, oil and sugar until well combined. Then, add the yogurt, vinegar and vanilla sugar and mix well. In a separate bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients: flour, baking soda, salt, ginger and nutmeg.

3. Next, add half of the dry ingredients to the yogurt mixture and stir together until just combined. Add half of the rice milk and gently stir until combined. Repeat with the remaining flour and rice milk. Finally, gently stir the grated squash into the batter and transfer to the prepared Bundt pan, making sure to spread the top of the batter evenly.

4. Bake until a cake tester (e.g., toothpick) inserted in the center comes out clean, about 55-60 minutes. Cool on a wire rack for 10-15 minutes. Then, carefully invert the cake onto the rack. Cool cake completely before adding the icing and candied ginger topping.

Icing and topping ingredients:
2 1/4 cups powdered sugar
3-4 tablespoons rice milk; more as needed
1 teaspoon vanilla sugar (or vanilla extract)
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup chopped crystallized ginger

Whisk the powdered sugar, rice milk, vanilla sugar, nutmeg and salt until smooth. Add more rice milk, as needed, until the icing is pourable but still quite thick. Pour the icing back and forth over the cooled cake. Sprinkle the ginger on top.

Please note: This recipe makes a generous amount of icing (more than I usually use).

2013-11-17 12.51.38

Now that Bundt Day is over, I’m starting to plan for Thanksgiving. If you have a good recipe for dairy/egg-free pumpkin pie, please let me know. Merci!

Updated: December 29, 2014

8 thoughts on “Vegan Butternut Squash Bundt Cake

    • dairyfreeswitzerland says:

      My favorite Bundt recipe is for the chocolate “Tunnel of Fudge” cake, but it’s full of eggs and dairy. Not sure I can recreate this one, but you should MAKE IT. So delicious. How have you not used your Bundt pan yet?! 😉 -Heddi xoxo

  1. Swati says:

    Thank you for such a wonderful recipe……..it makes absolutely delicious bundt cake….my kids love it n me too…we r vegan too….this is soo helpful..I made 3 in one day…n froze two.. 🙂
    Thanks again!!

  2. Cassia says:

    I mad this yesterday and it is very very good! I got rave reviews. I substituted 1 cup of sweet potato for the squash; so I made a butternut squash/sweet potato cake. I’m making it again next week. Simply delicious!

Leave a Reply

