Allergy-Friendly Product Recommendations: Crème à Tartiner, Biscuits and Ice Cream

As I’ve done in the past, I like to share allergy-friendly product recommendations when I find something exceptional. Here in Switzerland, I often buy the following products, all of which are free of dairy and eggs. We really like these products because they’re allergy-friendly (at least in our home), and because they taste great. Maybe they’re some of your favorites too?

Please note: Ingredient lists and allergen information can change, so please make sure to read food labels carefully. We recently noticed a new allergen warning added to one of our favorite products, Roland Sticks. It occurred because of a change in the company’s manufacturing practices, so we’ve unfortunately had to stop buying it.


I. A Savory Spread: Crème à Tartiner

Alnatura Streichcreme-Toskana

Alnatura

Allergen info: Free of the top-10 allergens.

Where to buy: This product can be found in select Migros stores in German-speaking Switzerland or online via LeShop.ch. The full ingredient list and nutritional information for this product are available at Alnatura’s website (in German and French).

My review: This versatile German product has “creme” in its name, but doesn’t contain milk. I probably wouldn’t have given it a second look at the store because of the name alone, but when Migros sent me a complimentary box of allergy-friendly Alnatura products, including the Streichcreme-Toskana, we had to give a try. Since then, we’ve been hooked. Somehow this smooth spread made of sunflower oil and seeds, red pepper, tomatoes, herbs and more tastes deliciously creamy. It’s great on a sandwich with turkey or chicken. I also toss it with hot pasta and steamed veggies to make a quick lunch for the boys. Along with the Toskana, Alnatura’s Streichcreme comes in other flavors, which I have yet to try: Aubergine (Eggplant), Curry Mango Papaya and Beet.


II. Biscuits sans Dairy and Eggs (contains: tree nuts)

Original Dar-Vida 5-Korn Biscuits

Dar-Vide Cookies 3128x2138
Allergen info: Contains almonds, gluten and wheat. May contain traces of hazelnuts.

Where to buy: Available at Coop and Migros. Hug AG makes Dar-Vida products, and information is available in English via their website.

My review: We always have a box of Original Dar-Vida crackers in our house, and now we’ve discovered this company makes an allergy-friendly biscuit as well. This Swiss product reminds me of the Belvita biscuits my mother brings us from the United States. While these biscuits are a safe treat for my son, some of the other flavors with pear or chocolate either contain or may contain traces of milk, so please read labels carefully.

 

III. Allergy-Friendly Ice Cream

Glace à l’arôme de cacao or vanille, Glace avec gaufrette

Migros ice cream 2247x3005
Allergen info: The ice cream products contains soy. The ice cream cone treats contain soy, gluten, hazelnuts and wheat.

Where to buy: Migros. You can search for these products via Migros’ Migipedia website (in German, French and Italian).

My review: These Italian-made products from Migros saved me a lot of time this summer. In April and May, I began collecting allergy-friendly ice cream recipes, free of dairy and eggs. Then, I somehow came across these aha! products online when I was placing order via LeShop.ch. First, we tried the vanilla ice cream with much success. After that, my sons tried the Cornets, or ice cream cone treats, which they both loved. Finally, we sampled the chocolate ice cream, and it’s just as good as the other products. Instead of having to experiment with my ice cream maker all summer, I served these products to my son instead. Plus, it was so wonderful being able to give him his first-ever ice cream cone!



Full disclosure
: As I mentioned, I received a complimentary box of Alnatura products from Migros, including the Streichcream-Toskana. However, I did not receive any compensation from Migros, Coop or other manufacturers to write about these products. Any opinions expressed in this or any of my other posts are solely my own. If you produce an allergy-friendly product and would like to send me a sample, please feel free to contact me. However, please keep in mind that I will only share information about a product if I think it’s exceptional and could be helpful to others.

What are your favorite allergy-friendly products that are available in Switzerland? Please leave a comment below and let us know. These products can make such a difference in expanding the options available to people with food allergies and intolerances. Many thanks!

6 thoughts on “Allergy-Friendly Product Recommendations: Crème à Tartiner, Biscuits and Ice Cream

  1. Stephanie says:

    We sometimes buy the Gran Cereale cookies. Between our French skills and my husband’s limited Italian, we’re pretty sure that there is no milk in them; at least, the chocolate ones are good. I’ve never reacted. You can find them at Coop or Denner. http://www.grancereale.it/

    Coop has a lactose-free chocolate that is also dairy-free. It was okay, but I prefer my dark chocolate. I’ve never had milk chocolate, really, and this was just too sweet.

    Many brands of Palmier cookies (or sometimes called Petits Prussiens) are also dairy-free. Aldi and Denner both sell circle shortbread cookies (called spritz, I think) that are made with shortening, not butter.

    There’s a snack chip that I used to buy at Aldi without milk (I think it was the chili-lemon flavor. The other one had milk powders in the coating.) It’s similar to sunchips in the States, I think.

    I’m going to the big Migros center nearest here in a few weeks to see if I can find some of these products you mention. Our little local Migros doesn’t carry many special things.

    • Heddi says:

      Hi Stephanie! Thanks for these great suggestions for folks who are avoiding milk, but unfortunately, the Gran Cereale cookies and Coop’s lactose-free chocolate still have an allergy warning that they may contain traces of milk. For my son, that means they aren’t safe for him to eat. The Palmier/Prussien cookies are a great suggestion too. We used to buy these at Coop, but then the label changed to include a warning for potential traces of milk, and we had to stop buying them. I’ll have to check out Aldi and Denner for the shortbread cookies you mentioned and the chips at Aldi. Curious to hear if you agree with my recommendations, so please let me know if you get a chance to try them out! 🙂 Have a great weekend, and thanks again. Always appreciate hearing from you, and very helpful info. -Heddi

      • Stephanie says:

        Oh, yes, the infamous ‘may contain’! I know that I won’t react severely to a small quantity, so I ignore it unless it actually figures on the ingredient list. (I avoid even lactose, although my doctor husband thinks it should be okay since it’s not casein!) Sorry to get your hopes up for things that won’t work!

        Denner might be hit-and-miss for these cookies, I can find them in our village Denner, but not in Payerne just next door. I think the chips at Aldi are the Studio brand. The normal tortilla chips are also much cheaper than Migros or Coop and DF. Aldi also has a lot of temporary selections, and sometimes I can find special chocolate treats there for me. Right now we’ve got some marzipan chocolate balls and pain d’épices hearts that are okay for me (but I’m not as sensitive, as mentioned above, and so not as careful about scrutinizing labels. When I was younger, I/my parents really had to be careful like you do!)

      • Heddi says:

        Thanks again, Stephanie! You give me hope that one day my son won’t have to be as careful to avoid those products with the “potential traces” warnings! 🙂 I’ll have to make a special trip to Aldi soon. Will let you know how it goes. I really appreciate you taking the time to share this info with us (and others!). All the best, -Heddi

Leave a Reply

